Chunk! No, Captain Chunk! Triumphantly Return With Comeback Single ‘Bitter’

Chunk! No, Captain Chunk! are back! The band haven’t released an album since 2015’s ‘Get Lost, Find Yourself’. This wasn’t the last time we heard from the French easycore band. After playing Warped Tour 2016, the band released the swinging summer song ‘Blame It On This Song’. Fans were excited to get more Chunk so soon, but little did they know it would be the last taste for half a decade. Now the band has returned, releasing their latest single ‘Bitter’ and announcing their comeback album ‘Gone Are The Good Old Days‘. The album title sounds bleakly out of character for the band, but I am confident that the band will prove the good old days haven’t passed by yet. After five years one might expect a major change from the band. Perhaps even a change for the worse. Has Chunk! No, Captain Chunk retained everything that made them fun?

The Comeback Single ‘Bitter’

The band chose the song ‘Bitter’ off their upcoming album as their comeback single. Chunk did it right with this one. The song just screams “comeback” single. The song starts off with a bouncy and fun easycore riff, which should immediately lay to rest any concerns regarding the band’s return.

Chunk! No, Captain Chunk! – Bitter

Shortly following is a sample that is a fitting introduction to the band. The sample shouts “Chunk! No, Captain Chunk!” before continuing on with the easycore cords. This is an introduction and reintroduction to the band. Old and new listeners will immediately know what they are getting into. The band doesn’t seem to be taking themselves too seriously, and any past listener will know this is a good thing. The band is at their best when they are having fun, and it seems like they are having a ton of fun this time around. Perhaps a break was exactly what the band needed, and perhaps the wait was necessary for the band to come back strong.

Chunk! No, Captain Chunk Bring Upon The Return Of Easycore

The song continues with the same energy it starts out with. Vocalist Bertrand Poncet sounds more clear than ever. Not that there was ever a problem with the singers prominent and distinct accent, but this will likely do wonders for the bands accessibility across seas. The chorus is fun and catchy. Listeners will sing along confidently by the second time the chorus comes around.

Chunk! No, Captain Chunk! – The Other Line

After the first chorus a surprising breakdown hits full force. Very similar to the style of ‘The Other Line’, but I am not complaining at all. The track was a fan favorite off of their latest album ‘Get Lost, Find Yourself’. The breakdown is welcoming, as it proves that the band is sticking true to their beloved easycore roots. After five years the band proves that there was never any reason for anyone to have doubts. Chunk, No Captain Chunk! have returned as the same band that left, but perhaps even better than ever.

What Awaits Us With ‘Gone Are The Good Old Days’?

The album is freshly announced, so information is limited. What we do know is that the five year old post-Warped Tour single ‘Blame It On This Song’ is featured on the album. It is not known whether this is a re-recording, or if the band just felt that the song fit on the album and wanted to give it a slot. I doubt anyone will have a complaint about this decision, as the song likely slipped under the cracks after its original release. The song is a fun and swinging summer track that will hopefully fit perfectly within the album. Judging by ‘Bitter’ this theory holds some weight.

Chunk! No, Captain Chunk! – Blame It On This Song

The album has a total of 12 songs and will release on July 30th, 2021. This is fashionably late for summer but still in time to claim its title as the summer album of 2021. Only time will tell if this ends up being the case.

The track list for ‘Gone Are The Old Days’ can be found below:

1. Bitter
2. Drift Away
3. Gone Are The Good Days
4. Marigold
5. Made For More
6. True Colors
7. Good Luck
8. Complete You
9. Blame It On This Song
10. Painkillers
11. Tongue Tied
12. Fin.

Final Verdict: 9/10 shells for a triumphant return of easycore.

What do you think of ‘Bitter’? Are you excited for the return of Chunk! No, Captain Chunk? Is ‘Gone Are The Good Old Days’ on your list for most anticipated releases of 2021? Let us know down in the comments.